Durga Puja significance, Festival Dates, Muhurat & Shardiya Navratri 2020
Durga Puja 2020

Durga Puja Significance I Festival Dates I Muhurat & Shardiya Navratri 2020

Shardiya Navratri Celebration

We all know about the great Navratri festival and Durga Puja Significance. Navratri is an important Hindu festival which is dedicated to Goddess Durga. This is a 9 days festival and in these 9 days, everyone is full of joy and happiness. This festival comes with a unique power that fills our hearts with confidence and love. Among all Navratri, Shardiya Navratri is the most popular and significant. Navratri, (Sanskrit: “nine nights”) in full Sharad Navratri, also called Durga Puja.

The nine-day long festival starts from the first day i.e. Pratipada of Ashwin month in 2020. Talking about Shardiya Navratri, it will start from Saturday, 17 October, and will end on Dussehra i.e. Sunday 25 October. Popularly it is also known as Maha Navratri.

Important Durga Puja Date 2020

Types of Navratri Start Date End Date
Shardiya Navratri Saturday, 17 October Sunday, 25 October
Chaitra Navratri Wednesday, 25 March Friday, 03 April
Magha Gupt Navratri Saturday, 25 January Sunday, 02 February
Asadha Gupt Navratri Monday, 22 June Tuesday, 30 June

Durga Puja Significance & Sharadiya Navratri

Basically, the Sharad Navratri is a 10 days religious journey but it is considered as nine. The tenth day is also known as the VIJAYADASHAMI or DUSSEHRA. This festival is celebrated all over the country but especially in northern and eastern India, it is celebrated with full enthusiasm and power.

The Navratri is celebrated in Sharad month which indicates the beginning of winters. People live in different locations like people from cities and people from villages, but the way of celebrating the Navratri is the same for all. People come together to perform Navratri Puja in their house or even they organize a religion puja function in their locality so that everyone can come and enjoy the special day.

Even if you want to experience different rituals and mythology then you can visit to see the crowd in Kolkata during Durga puja. You will find why and how Bengali worships Durga with full dedication, love and affectionate. That’s why Kolkata city is most famous for Durga puja.

Check Video: How To Spend Durga Puja In 2020

How is Navratri And Durga Puja Celebrated?

Although, every year we celebrate Durga puja with joy and happiness and Durga pooja is quite more popular in Kolkata. In our country, Navratri is celebrated with zeal and enthusiasm. and everyone knows about how to do Durga puja. Every single day has its own story and way of celebrating. The nine days are actually named after the nine incarnations of Maa Durga. The names of all incarnations of Maa Durga are :

  1. Maa Shailputri
  2. Maa Brahmacharini
  3. Maa Chandraghanta
  4. Maa kushmanda 
  5. Maa Skand Mata
  6. Maa Katyayani
  7. Maa Kaalratri
  8. Maa Mahagauri
  9. Maa Siddhidatri

Shardiya Navratri 2020

How Each Day of Sharadiya Navratri &  Durga Puja Celebrated

Let’s discuss here how to spend nine-day of the Durga puja i.e, the end of Navratri

  • Day 1. 

Goddess Shailputri, an incarnation of Maa Parvati is worshipped on this day. In this form, she can be seen sitting in Nandi the bull with a Trishul in her right hand a lotus flower in her left hand. 

  • Day 2.

Goddess Brahmacharini, an Incarnations of Maa Parvati who became Sati, the pure one. The worship of her attains Moksha, Salvation a piece. In this form, she can be seen holding a kamandalu and japmala in her hands while walking bare feet. 

  • Day 3. 

Goddess Chandraghanta, is worshipped on the third day of Navratri. The name was actually derived after Maa Parvati got married to Lord Shiva and adored a half-moon on her forehead. 

  • Day 4.

Goddess Kushmanda, is worshiped on the fourth day of Navratri. She can be seen sitting on a lion with eight hands. She is said to be the one endowing vegetation and greenery on Earth. It is believed that all greenery that we have is just because of the grace of Goddess Kushmanda.

  • Day 5.

Goddess Skandmata, is the mother of Lord Kartikeya, also known as Skanda. Goddess Skandmata is revered on the fifth day. In this form she can be seen with four arms, holding her small baby and riding a fierce lion. She shows the power of a mother when she realizes her child is in danger. 

  • Day 6.

Goddess Katyayani, is the violent incarnation of Goddess Durga and the daughter of Sage Katya. She is worshiped on the sixth day. Her form shows courage and is seen as having four hands and riding a lion.

  • Day 7.

Goddess Kalratri, also called Maa Kalratri, is known to be a violent form of Goddess Durga and worshipped on Saptami. It is said in stories that Maa Parvati’s fair skin got transformed into the black in order to kill Sumbha and Nisumbha, the two demons. 

  • Day 8.

Goddess Mahagauri is worshipped on the eighth day. This form of her symbolizes peace and intellect.

  • Day 9.

Goddess Siddhidatri is worshipped on a ninth day. She is said to possess all kinds of siddhis. She can be seen sitting on a Lotus and has four hands.

Durga Puja Festival

See More – Download Shardiya Navratri wishes Images Here

Colors Also Play An Important Role In Navratri

It will amaze you but it is true. Each day of Navratri is related to a particular color. It is said that wearing these specific colors on specific days will give you luck and will bless you with success. Talking about all nine days of Navratri, we can see each day is called by a specific name. All nine days have their specific name and color and each color shows the bright side of life.

The First Day which is called “Pratipada” and the very first day comes with a very bright and specific color “Yellow”.
The Second Day is known with the name of “Dwitiya” and it is related to the color of nature, the color that we can see the most in nature, the “Green” color.

The Third Day which is known with the name of “Tritiya” and is connected with the “Grey” color which represents neutrality and balance.

The Fourth Day called “Chaturthi”, this day is represented with the color “Orange” which represents energy and power.
The Fifth Day is called “Panchami”, and these days are represented with “White” color which means peace. 
The Sixth Day is called “Shashthi” and it is represented with the color “Red” which shows love and adventure.
The Seventh Day is called “Saptami” and it is represented with the color “Royal Blue” which shows intelligence and significance.
The Eighth Day is known as “Ashtami” and it is represented with “Pink” color which shows sweet, nice, and charming behaviour.
The Ninth Day i.e., last day is called “Navmi” and it is represented with “Purple” which shows royalty, luxury, and power.

Shardiya Navratri 2020

Final Verdict

This is one of the most loving festivals of India and is celebrated with enthusiasm and significance.  Navratri is celebrated for 9 continuous days and each day purifies our soul and teaches something new, that helps to face life problems and achieve our goals. 

Share and Enjoy !


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *